top of page

Game Audio Design - GAD!


Hi everyone, and welcome to my game audio portfolio and blog.

A brief introduction: my name is Leonardo, and I am a self-taught producer getting into the world of game audio sound design. My musical background dates back to when I was just five years old, when my parents forced me to learn the piano via private lessons, I know...what a tragedy! Although I didn't know it back then, that was the best thing that ever happened to me.

After ten or so years of playing classical music, I decided to quit the piano and pick up talent-less computer music when I discovered EDM via a friend who introduced me to Skrillex (not in person unfortunately). Only a few days after that I first heard Zedd - Spectrum on the radio, which turned out to be the singular track that defined the beginning of my obsession with music production.

And so began the long journey to climb the insurmountable mountain that is reaching audio perfection, or at least, walking with the belief that such a task is possible at all, or even relevant at that. Relevant, why? Because as the rational part of my brain learnt throughout the years, the average person to whom I would show my music would not even perceive the difference in quality between my tracks and a professional production. Meanwhile, the emotional part of my brain keeps tormenting me that I can't sound as good as my idols.

So, what have I learnt in the past five years? I'd say a fair few skills that have allowed me to become well-versed in the art of manipulating sound.

  • I've learnt the ins and outs of my DAW of choice, FL Studio.

  • Fundamentals of sound - understanding sound wave shapes and how they combine to make complex sounds.

  • Advanced sound synthesis and design via various VSTs; addittive, subtractive, FM, wavetable based, you name it. Some favorites include Xfer Serum, Image-Line Harmor, and NI Massive.

  • Deep understanding of sound effects (reverb, delay, compression, flangers, filters, EQs, etc.).

  • Audio recording and mic placement.

  • Audio I/O and setup.

That said, you can find my music at https://soundcloud.com/faltomusic

Great, introductions done!

What's IS this, then?

This blog represents my journey as I learn the craft of audio implementation in video-games, and as I discover how the nuances of producing sounds for this medium differ to music production. Here I hope to document the stages of my progression up to the extent that my laziness will permit for the sake of my future self and, with enough luck, the patience of my future partners-in-sound.

P.S. I do not guarantee any consistency in the upkeep and preservation of this blog. I do have a full-time job, after all.

Comments


bottom of page